Kayak Fishing Ultimate Resource

Reviews written by Kevin Costello

25 results - showing 1 - 10  
1 2 3  
 
Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   November 20, 2015
Stars 
 
5.0

Heavy duty quick drying pants

I absolutely love these pants. They have quickly become my favorite pair of on the water and on the town pants.

Rod Reviews
Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   September 11, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Craftsmanship 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Versatility 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0

Smallie Stix are not just for smallies

Smallie Stix are my favorites rods. I have since sold my other brands including St Croix, Duckett, Carrot Stix and APR.

Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 08, 2015
Stars 
 
4.0

Excellent entry level "performance" paddle

This is a fantastic paddle at an excellent price point. Good weight, durable and the hook retrival notch does come in handy.

Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 06, 2015
Stars 
 
4.0

Worth the investment

I've used this case for transporting camera equipment, fishing reels and other high value items while travelling via airline. I love the tough and durable hard shell and it's ability to accept a lock.

Paddling Gear Reviews
Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 05, 2015
Stars 
 
4.0

Nice but expensive

After winning a little coin at the casino, I decided to stop by the Bass Pro and see what impuse buy I could make with my "free" money. The winning item was the Yeti Roadie 20 cooler. This thing is a beast but worth the money and weight. I've had this on quite a few camping trips and some day long paddling trips in the dead of summer. It's ability to keep ice is outstanding, and worth every penny.

Lure Reviews
Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 05, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Craftsmanship 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
2.0
Versatility 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0

The industry benchmark

The Senko is the stick bait that all other stick baits are measured against. While I like the Yamamoto Senko's action, I do not like the lack of durability. The same soft feel that gives it the fish enticing action, also is its major weak spot. You can only expect 1-2 fish per lure.

Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 05, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Craftsmanship 
 
4.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Versatility 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0

Fish proven lipless crank

Good lipless crank for the money. Nice alternative to Rapala and Rattle Traps.

Lure Reviews
Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 05, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Craftsmanship 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
4.0
Versatility 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0

Good kit

I purchased this kit from Dick's Sporting Goods many moons ago, and I still have 3/5 lures in my arsenal. I've caught LMB, SMB, Walleye and Pickeral on these lures. Inline spinners are fishing catching machines.

Clothing Reviews
Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 05, 2015
Stars 
 
4.0

Great warm water shoe

For someone with Fred Flintstone feet (big and flat), these shoes fit great. They are comfortable to wear in the water as well as to and from the water, and even around town.

Kevin CostelloKevin Costello   March 05, 2015
Stars 
 
5.0

Quick drying and light weight

I have been using Columbia PFG apparel for years and I love it now as much as I did when I first used it. I love the light weight feel and quick drying aspect.

25 results - showing 1 - 10  
1 2 3  
 

Get the YakAngler Newsletter!

Keep tabs on all the latest from YakAngler.