The State of Oregon is taking on a different measure, following suit of Idaho. Oregon is imposing a fee for an “Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Permit” (AISPP) which they hope will help fund education and enforcement of invasive species control.
But its not so much about what you’re floating on.
If you’re paddling – be it a kayak, drift boat, pontoons, or even SUPs – you need a $7 annual permit ($5 fee + $2 agent fee). Not the boat. This is where things differ with motorboats where biennial registration will include a $5 fee. AISPPs are for the operator, and the kayak goes unregistered. If you have more than one kayak, you’re covered by a single AISPP. If you have one kayak that is shared by the family, everyone over the age of 13 needs a permit, as do any non-resident visiting Oregon waters. Non-residents have a higher $22 permit.
Idaho’s system is slightly different and registers the kayak. A small decal is then fixed on either side, and with it in place, anyone can note that the kayaker has paid their fee. Oregon’s use of paper-slip-permits will call for a lot of “show me your permit” type situations, wasting a lot of time as people have to dig out their piece of paper just to continue paddling.
This whole thing has been very confusing. Laws, reasons, and education have been very vague. Kayak retailers have not even been given warning or the means to sell these permits while they sell a new kayak.
Fortunately this is the first year Oregon has done this type of thing. Hopefully 2011 will see a new process that will make things easier.
Find out more info (well, kinda) at www.BoatOregon.com