Username: Password: Remember me
Kayak Fly Fishing Forum
  • Page:

TOPIC: Knots

Knots 8 years 4 months ago #1

• Louisville, Kentucky, United States
  • adam
  • 1250+ Posts!
  • Columbus Day Boondoggle 2015 Columbus Day Boondoggle 2014 Presidents Day Boondoggle 2014Columbus Day Boondoggle 2013Boondoggle Website SupporterPresidents Day Boondoggle 2013Columbus Day Boondoggle 2012 Presidents Day Boondoggle 2012FoundersSeekerDilettanteGreen Skull
Being that I am new to fly fishing I was looking for which knots that I should use to connect the leader to the fly line and so forth. I found these which I thought were pretty helpful.

Backing to Fly Line:
Albright Knot or Nail Knot

Fly Line to Braided Leader:
Loop-to-Loop Connection

Fly Line to Leader:
Nail Knot

Fly Line to Permanent Mono Loop:
Nail Knot a 6″-8″ monofilament butt section, then Loop-to-Loop Connection using Perfection Loop or Surgeon's Loop

Braided Leader Butt to Tippet:
Loop-to-Loop Connection using Perfection Loop on tippet or Surgeon’s Loop on tippet

Hand-Tied Leader:
Barrel Knots or Surgeon’s Knots

Leader to Tippet:
Surgeon’s Knot or Barrel Knot

Tippet to Fly:
(a) Clinch Knot
(b) killroys.com/knots/duncan-loop-or-uni-knot/
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Irish Fly, daiwanut

Re: Knots 8 years 4 months ago #2

• Lexington, Kentucky
  • slamdunc
  • 50+ Posts!
  • 2010 YakAngler Supporter2011 YakAngler Supporter
Adam,
Thanks for posting the fly fishing knots, I love learning how to tie new knots.

Re: Knots 8 years 1 month ago #3

• Brownstown, Michigan
  • FinnHunter
  • 10+ Posts!