Username: Password: Remember me
Kayak Fly Fishing Forum

TOPIC: A couple observations on getting started

A couple observations on getting started 7 years 1 week ago #1

• Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
  • 59Bassman
  • 250+ Posts!
  • Ambassador Medal2013 YakAngler Supporter 2012 YakAngler Supporter Seeker
I'm not an expert by any means. I didn't grow up fly fishing. I actually took up fly fishing after a motorcycle wreck in 2004, and I've been pretty addicted since. I've made some good friends while fly fishing, and for the most part what I know is figuring it out myself - the least efficient way to do it.

There are a number of folks who might be curious about trying fly fishing. But fly shops are confusing, strange places. Long, whippy rods at divorce-inducing prices. Odd, exotic animal skins hanging on the wall, and more flashy materials than a Star Trek alien's costume. Lines with numbers that cost more than a decent rod, reel, and spool of line for a spinning rig. Where do you start?

OK, here's the secret. The guys at the fly shop want you to come back. They want you to do well, and they want to help you catch fish. These little shops thrive on long-term relationships. Their customers tend to be loyal, and fish the brands of rods they sell. Most large-purchase prices (rods, reels, lines) are pretty well fixed by the suppliers, so you're going to pay the same price at Cabela's or Joe's Corner Fly Shop.

Ask the fly shop for help. My brother did this before me, and I did it when I started. I not only ended up with a rod, reel, and line appropriate for what I wanted to catch, but I got multiple free casting lessons in the parking lot, tips and directions on rigging my flies up, and continual advice on where to go and how to do it. You can go in with an idea about what you want to fish for, and they can take it from there.

But if you want to appear a bit more informed, here's a bit of homework.