Kayak Fishing Ultimate Resource

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Kayak Fishing Answers Forum

TOPIC: Bending Branches plus ferrule system

Bending Branches plus ferrule system 4 months 1 week ago #1

• sab7896
  • -10 Posts!
I'm new to kayaking and kayak fishing. I'm trying to decide on a paddle. I don't want to cheap out and have to buy something new down the road and end up spending more in the long run. I don't know exactly what length will suit me best so I'm leaning towards an adjustable paddle. Also, I would think an adjustable paddle would be beneficial for high/low seating as well as accommodating different boat widths if I switch boats down the road. I do not like the thought of any of the adjustable paddles that have some sort of collar on the shaft. Bending Branches seems to have the only unobtrusive ferrule system I can find but since it doesn't have a true locking mechanism I wonder if I would have any problems with it coming loose. Does anyone have experience with this system? Have you had any issues with it coming loose or not feeling solid? If I don't go with the adjustable system I might opt for the Werner Shuna instead.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Bending Branches plus ferrule system 4 months 1 week ago #2

• Wisconsin
  • Clay
  • 250+ Posts!
I had a similar question recently that you might like to read the responses to: www.yakangler.com/forum/25-answer-bag/35499-bending-branches-pro-angler-paddle-question

I edited this post after finding this YT video today. I have to think on this subject more at this point. Let us know what you come up with for a decision.

I did check out this link by Werner to help choose the appropriate length: wernerpaddles.com/fit-guide/
And this link by Bending Branches on Length selection: bendingbranches.com/kayak-paddle-sizing-guide