Kayak Fishing Ultimate Resource

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome

TOPIC: Newbie here

Newbie here 1 month 1 week ago #1

Hello everyone. My name is Raymond and I'm a newbie in kayaking. I'm looking for references in which I could make my pickup carry my kayak for a long drive. Any good spots you can also recommend in Ohio and Utah? I'll be visiting my relatives there next month.
Need to install a new nerf bar for pickup since I got mine lifted.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Newbie here 1 month 1 week ago #2

• Silverhill, Alabama, USA
  • basscatlildave
  • MOD Squad
  • YakAngler Mod2015 YakAngler Supporter2016 YakAngler Supporter2014 YakAngler Supporter Ambassador MedalPhotographerTravelerReviewerGreen Skull
:welcome:

Newbie here 1 month 1 week ago #3

Thank you!

Newbie here 1 month 1 week ago #4

• Wisconsin
  • Clay
  • 250+ Posts!
Raymond, welcome to the board. Two questions: what pick up truck do you have and what kayak?

If you have a truck hitch on the vehicle, a simple T style truck bed extender is a very popular option like this one:
boonedoxusa.com/products/t-bone-bed-extender
Many go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not the fish that they are after. Henry David Thoreau

Newbie here 1 month 1 week ago #5

• , ,
  • krash
  • 500+ Posts!
  • Ambassador Medal
Welcome.. there are several options depending on how you want to transport the kayak and what you want to spend.

If you are OK with the kayak hanging out the back, check length some states had limits.. The least expnsive is perhaos the harbor freight bed extender, the better option is that BoonDocks T-Bone extender.

Over head, of you have a full size 4dr truck cab, roof top racks are a good option just make sure you use bow and stern lines.