Kayak Fishing Ultimate Resource

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome

TOPIC: Kayaking newbie

Kayaking newbie 9 months 1 week ago #1

Seems a lot of searches regarding kayak fishing led me to this site...so I thought I'd join!

I'm a newbie at kayaking; I've been fishing for many years. I am still in the market for my first kayak--leaning heavily towards the Perception Pescador Anger 10. I've rented kayaks at different places, and fell in love instantly!

Like I said, I am a total noob at this, so I may be asking a lot of questions about kayaks, modifications, etc.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Kayaking newbie 9 months 1 week ago #2

• Silverhill, Alabama, USA
  • basscatlildave
  • MOD Squad
  • YakAngler Mod2015 YakAngler Supporter2016 YakAngler Supporter2014 YakAngler Supporter Ambassador MedalPhotographerTravelerReviewerGreen Skull
Please ask away. There is a ton of knowledge here.
:welcome:

Kayaking newbie 9 months 1 week ago #3

• , ,
  • krash
  • 500+ Posts!
  • Ambassador Medal
The thing to do before asking is to describe your needs, wants, and physical size.

There are many post on pretty much every paddle fishing forum with the same question, "what kayak should I buy" pop's up every other week... Here is a link to one as an example.

I always suggest to people looking into the market thinking of jumping in.. is if possible go visit a couple areas that you plan to fish and see what others are using. Try talking to others, its better to talk when they are coming back in after a day of fishing.. as most of us are very friendly we are generally in a hurry when launching to get out there and make that first cast... although you will also want to go watch as people unload from their vehicle and get set up to head out there.

I also find that people will give you more reliable and real information, especially the negative type, in person than you will get online.