Kayak Fishing Ultimate Resource

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome

TOPIC: Tips for first time in a sit on Kayak

Tips for first time in a sit on Kayak 1 month 1 week ago #1

I plan on purchasing a kayak in the next few weeks to fish some of the local canals and rivers near me. I'm new to this sub so I was kind of curious to hear from a few kayak enthusiasts about what your biggest do's and don'ts are for first timers, or for anyone for that matter. Whether funny stories to learn from, or simple tips, anything is appreciated.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Tips for first time in a sit on Kayak 1 month 1 week ago #2

• , ,
  • krash
  • 500+ Posts!
  • Ambassador Medal
First time out wear your pfd... and always leash your paddle.

First couple times out, don;t take anything you can't afford to loose, break, or totally dunk in the water, especially your wallet, keys, and cell phone.

Don't look at the interweb and think you need to start drilling holes and adding stuff. After taking a coupel maiden paddle trips and you feel comfortable start simple bring a rod and a small bit of tackle... you will quickly see what you need and where you want it.

I mainly fish inshore flats and/or canal lake bass fishing. To this day I've been thru several canoes, kayaks, and paddle-boards and have yet to drill many holes in any of them. I think the most I ever drilled and added was a couple deck loops for a paddle keeper and an anchor trolley system which I never use. I have a crate that has been modified a few times with attached rod holders that fits my needs for my style of fishing. I did add a 30qt. cooler that is used as a dry-box fo storage and a seat when I got the SUP, because I needed/wanted a seat and there is just much higher chance of stuff falling off or getting wet, it also works as a raised standing platform for sighting fish.

Tips for first time in a sit on Kayak 1 month 1 day ago #3

• Apison, TN, USA
  • MontyMurdoch