Kayak Fishing Ultimate Resource

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Kayak Specific Forum

TOPIC: Need advice on best Kayak for fishing Lakes/Rivers

Need advice on best Kayak for fishing Lakes/Rivers 6 months 1 hour ago #1

• johnnh
  • -10 Posts!
I have been going on-line, watching you tube, reading reviews, going to local ponds/lakes and talking to anglers.
My goal is to purchase a good quality sit on top Kayak for fishing. I have narrowed my search to the Wilderness Radar 115 or 135
The ability to use a pedal drive that can easily pop up to avoid destroying the drive in shallow water is attractive.
We have very rocky shorelines and rock piles (humps) everywhere in NH waters so the ease of getting the drive out of harms way is imortantant

I have many years of experience in bass fishing on the tournament circuits in the Northeast and I am looking forward to the ability to get into all of those places we could never get into with 20+ foot bass boats. I no longer have a Bass boat and its time for a new adventure.

Please let me know what your opinions are for a decent Fishing Kayak
Thanks
John
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Need advice on best Kayak for fishing Lakes/Rivers 5 months 4 weeks ago #2

• Wisconsin
  • Clay
  • 250+ Posts!
Welcome to the board John, look forward to reading some of your advice on fishing techniques that have worked for you.

I think that you are on a good track in finding a boat by a reputable manufacturer and in finding a boat that you can stand and pitch a jig if you so choose to. No matter what they say about kayaks that you can stand in, none of them will be like standing on the deck of a 20' bass boat, but it's still nice to have the ability to stretch your legs and do a better job of sight fishing out of the boat.