Kayak Fishing Ultimate Resource

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Saltwater Kayak Fishing

TOPIC: Kayak Length

Kayak Length 2 months 1 week ago #1

I'm a novice kayak angler looking to get started. I am looking to fish Long Island Sound and back bay NJ saltwater. I've been offered a good deal on a used Ocean Trident but it is only 11ft in length. Is the downside to the shorter kayak important enough to walk from the deal or would the 11ft suffice for a novice in water with current?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Kayak Length 2 months 1 week ago #2

• North Ft. Myers
  • sailor144
  • 10+ Posts!
I've been a Florida kayaker, but for me, I would want something that could track well, and cut through chop in your environment. I would look for something around 14', maybe with a rudder if possible. Tarpons/Jacksons, etc., are excellent for that type of water. I think the 11 footer will give you more problems than you want.

Kayak Length 2 months 6 days ago #3

• perchjerker
  • 50+ Posts!
Safety is always your first consideration. Short narrow yaks flip easily. If a guy can flip a Hobie PA, you sure can the type you are talking about. Before you venture offshore, I recommend you become familiar with kayaking first. Maybe some inshore fishing. Don't get in a rush. Get it rigged properly. In current it's important to know how to safely anchor and deal with wakes from boats and larger. Get a PFD that is comfortable and wear it 100% of the time.
Try to find a buddy to yak with. In this case, there is safety in numbers. Stay safe
2016 Native Slayer Propel 13 in Lizard Lick color.

Kayak Length 2 weeks 1 day ago #4

• 1027 Gladwell Street Dallas, TX 75204
  • kathy10
  • -10 Posts!